OVERVIEW: The 2017 Colorado Springs Sky Sox feature a mix of veterans and prospects with 15 players having spent time with the Sky Sox in the past. Colorado Springs will boast the Brewers top overall prospect in outfielder Lewis Brinson, as well as five other players ranked in our top 40, including Josh Hader (#3), Brett Phillips (#7), Brandon Woodruff (#9), Ryan Cordell (#21) and Damien Magnifico (#35).

PITCHERS: Colorado Springs should have a nice starting rotation to open the season that will be led by Hader and Woodruff, two of the top arms in Milwaukee’s system. They will likely be joined by a pair of former big league Brewers in Hiram Burgos and Wei-Chung Wang, along with newcomer Paolo Espino. The Sky Sox should have plenty of options at the back end of their bullpen as well, where Magnifico and Davvid Goforth both return and will be joined by a couple of new faces in Andrew Barbosa and Stephen Kohlscheen along with a trio of pitchers with a chip on their shoulder and something to prove in Tyler Cravy, Rob Scahill and Michael Blazek.

CATCHERS: The catching duties at Colorado Springs figure to be shared between Tyler Heineman, whom the Brewers recently acquired in a trade with the Houston Astros, and 28-year-old Adam Weisenburger to start the season. The depth behind the plate could also get a boost with the addition of Andrew Susac and/or Rene Garcia once they recover from injuries suffered this spring.

INFIELDERS: The Sky Sox infield looks to be a veteran group, with the youngest of the bunch being the versatile Yadiel Rivera. Garrett Cooper should see plenty of at-bats at first base with Nick Noonan, Ivan DeJesus, Jr., Nate Orf, Gabriel Noriega and Eric Sogard all rotating among second, short and third.

OUTFIELDERS: The outfield in Colorado Springs will certainly be a fun one to watch with the trio of Brinson, Phillips and Cordell set to handle the duties at Security Service Field. They will be joined by Kyle Wren, who saw plenty of late inning action with the Brewers this spring, with Cooper and DeJesus, Jr. providing additional depth as well.

COACHING STAFF: Colorado Springs will once again be skippered by Rick Sweet, who will begin his fourth season at the helm for the Sky Sox. He will be joined by Fred Dabney, who is back for season number six as the Triple-A pitching coach, as well as Ned Yost IV and Al LeBoeuf who move up from Brevard County and Wisconsin respectively.


Andrew Barbosa (P)
Michael Blazek (P)
Lewis Brinson (OF)
Hiram Burgos (P)
Garrett Cooper (1B)
Ryan Cordell (OF)
Tyler Cravy (P)
Ivan De Jesus, Jr. (UTL)
Tim Dillard (P)
Paolo Espino (P)
David Goforth (P)
Josh Hader (P)
Tyler Heineman (C)
Stephen Kohlscheen (P)
Damien Magnifico (P)
Nick Noonan (INF)
Gabriel Noriega (INF)
Nate Orf (INF)
Brett Phillips (OF)
Yadiel Rivera (INF)
Rob Scahill (P)
Eric Sogard (INF)
Wei-Chung Wang (P)
Adam Weisenburger (C)
Brandon Woodruff (P)
Kyle Wren (OF)